Expiration: 365 days after purchase
Inside a c.1843 “canal stone” building, next to the historic “Flight of Five” and Locks 34 & 35, the Erie Canal Discovery Center is an interesting and enjoyable place to learn about the creation of the canal and locks in the 19th Century.
The most popular feature of the Discovery Center is “Gateways East & West,” a 15-minute movie about the building of the canal and the Flight of Five and Deep Cut– the massive project at Lockport. Part-way through the movie, visitors board a “packet boat” for a simulated night-time ride up through one of the 1820s locks!
Interactive displays let visitors try their hand at moving a boat through locks, hear from people who worked on the canal and built Lockport, and test their knowledge of the canal.
After learning about the locks and canal, visitors can walk through the locks area with a better understanding of what they are seeing, and a greater appreciation of the monumental engineering feat that took place in Lockport.
The ground floor of the building houses the City of Lockport Visitor Center and the “Lock, Stock & Barrel” Museum Shop. Visitors can also see a portion of the Charles Rand Penney Collection of historic Niagara County artifacts on the third floor.
Children are free while accompanying and adult or guardian.
$5.00 - $6.00
See location on an interactive map.